//
you're reading...
Movies

Movie Updates

Here’s a glimpse/mini-reviews on the recent films I’ve seen. I’ve seriously been lacking in my reviews the last two months but life’s busy.

Gnomeo and Juliet : Such a fun watch of a spin-off of the famous Romeo and Juliet. If you don’t already love those cute little gnomes you will after this. The film shares the thoughtful, conflicted themes evident in the Shakespheare tragedy but is modernized and witty.

Hall Pass : It’s a typical crude and humorous guy flick chock-full of naked chicks (and men), big egos and debauchery. Owen Wilson and Jason Sudeikis were very memorable and dead on with their delivery of quips. But the leading female roles were forgettable and dull. Jenna Fischer and Christina Applegate have seen better roles but do you expect from a Machismo script like such? The Farrelly brothers have done better (There’s Something About Mary, Shallow Hall).

Mother and Child : This film really surprised me. It completely flew under the radar. The 2009 film by Rodrigo Garcia (Nine Lives) stars Naomi Watts, Annette Bening and Samuel Jackson and is an account of each character’s exposure to abortion and being a single mother.

Scream 4 : An in-depth review will be written later this week after I see it a second time. I was hesitant at first because of my supreme love of the original Wes Craven trilogy. But this film lived up to expectations, surprised me in many parts, and paid good homage to the first Scream.

Bridesmaids : Thanks to a free preview screening I got to enjoy this Hangover-caliber film just for women! This movie starring Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph, and Rose Byrne follows a group of bridesmaids leading up to a very stressful wedding. The hilarious adventures were perfectly matched with tender, emotional moments between the characters.

Full Metal Jacket : I willing to admit that I just saw this film for my first time. (Sad, I know). I’ve always wanted to see it. But damn, I’m upset I waited so long to finally watch this. The “first-hand” account of life for a Vietman War soldier was intense and emotion-provoking. Though, I will say the “bathroom scene” I’ve heard about for years was no where near as shocking, intense as I thought it would be.

The Burning Plain : Out of all the films I’ve watched recently, this one surprised me the most. The complex, character-driven plot is shown to the audience out of order and throughout entire lives. It reveals the ins and outs of two families and their unique and shocking bond. It wasn’t Charlie Theron’s most memorable role but Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone) really stood out as a grade-A actress.

The Informers : Do not even bother with this vapid, shallow film based on the novel by Bret Easton Ellis. Yes, given his track record I should have expected a look into the gritty, spoiled L.A. lifestyle. But this film tried, and failed, to “shock” the audience with its drug use and titty shots but it was just over-done.

Grown Ups : I only watched this for my love of Kevin James. But I was pleasantly surprised by the other good roles. It was a step up to the recent flops Adam Sandler has touched (You Don’t Mess With the Zohan). Chris Rock, David Spade, and Rob Schneider all had hilarious characters from a group of childhood friends reunited decades later.

Dinner for Schmucks : I usually can’t stand the characters played by Steve Carell but he was so funny in this film that I just can’t deny it. He plays a ridiculous, oblivious taxidermist that is taken under the wing of Paul Rudd to be later exploited for a few laughs by ignorant wealths. The film’s director is known for the Austin Powers and Meet the Parents films, so you know it’s going to be funny.

Insidious : Finally, a film that actually scared me!! After a long hiatus of never being scared by the lackluster thriller/horror films being pumped out right now, this film’s suspense and imagery did the trick for me. The film portrays a realm called the Further in a very creepy, twist-taking way.

Rango : This animated take on life for a lonely chameleon was a perfect mix of childish and adult wit and plot lines. I really like how animated flicks as of late have something to offer both kids and the parents stuck going to them. Johnny Depp was admittedly good. But what I liked best about this film was the great depiction of the quirky animals/reptiles within the deserted land off the highway.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

