//
you're reading...
Movies

The Hurt Locker

I was hesitant to see The Hurt Locker because I dislike war movies more than I do action. But with having a female director (Kathryn Bigelow) and winning best picture and best director at the Oscars I decided to give it a try. This review will be short, by the way, since the film’s message is pretty simple.

Bigelow said of the film, “War’s dirty little secret is that some men love it. I’m trying to unpack why, to look at what it means to be a hero in the context of 21st-century combat.” This is basically what the film is about. I usually don’t like war movies because they are over-acted and over-the-top, but The Hurt Locker was a poignant, realistic look at war and how it affects the men and women fighting it.

Jeremy Renner, Guy Pearce, Anthony Mackie and Ralph Fiennes were some of the well-known actors in the film. They all did wonderful at showing the courage, bravery, blind faith and skill needed to fight in a war the right way. Whether it was disarming 20 bombs all connected, snipering the bad guys away, or instant decision-making on the battlefield this film was one of the most tense things I’ve watched. The film illustrated just how dangerous war can be. As Americans living our independent lives, we never really know what war is like. This helped put it in perspective and reminds us not to forget the many sacrifices being made. I’m not very patriotic but this film gave me more pride for my country.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

