//
you're reading...
Movies

Lovely Bones

I recently watched Peter Jackson’s 2009 adaptation of The Lovely Bones. The movie is based on the book by Alice Sebold. It’s about a 14-year-old girl who is raped and murdered by her neighbor. A lot of the book and movie takes place from Susie Salmon’s (Saoirse Ronan, Atonement) point of view from the in-between world. The other part of the movie takes place in the present world where her family tries to find her murderer.

It’s been years since I’ve read the book, but it was a book I couldn’t put down! I was really amped to see this movie but was hesitant because I knew most likely it wouldn’t be as good as the book. I thought there was entirely too many magical realism/heaven scenes. They didn’t add much to the film and were overdone.

That being said, I loved the scenes with Susie’s family. Jack and Abigail Salmon (Mark Wahlberg, Rachel Weisz) play Salmon’s parents. Weisz was so-so, as I think she always is. Wahlberg though was amazing in this film. He played the role of suffering father so well. As a daddy’s girl myself I could imagine just how difficult it would be to live after a tragedy like this one. His character seemed to be the only one that couldn’t move past Susie’s murder. But in steps Susie’s sister played by Rose McIver. She was the character who ended up risking the most to find out the truth about her sister’s death. It’s no mystery from the trailer that Stanley Tucci’s character George Harvey is the killer. He did a great job playing the perverted freak that his character was. It was sometimes difficult to watch Tucci’s character because he played it so well. I am used to seeing Tucci in loveable roles like The Devil Wears Prada.

Other small roles were filled by Susan Sarandon as Susie’s grandmother. Her character added some comic relief to a heavy-themed movie. Michael Imperioli played the detective investigating Susie’s death. The movie was directed by Peter Jackson, and I think he should stick to the fantasy, sci-fi genres.

Discussion

One thought on “Lovely Bones

  1. I just wrote my review on this too and I was so disappointed. I agree about the heaven-esque scenes. They were awful and brought nothing to the story. I loved the book, so was pretty bummed that the film wasn’t very good!

    Posted by Carrie | April 26, 2010, 9:40 pm

Leave a Reply

