//
you're reading...
Movies

Whip It

Whip It: Why haven’t I had you in my life before today?? LOVE THIS MOVIE! I can’t really express how awesome I think this movie is. This movie was made for every angst-ridden, bitter, bitchy teenager. And I am still that girl at heart.

The movie is about Bliss, a 17-year-old high schooler with a control freak mother. (Hmm?) While her mother is forcing her to take part in a Blue Ribbon pageant, she and her friend Pash rebel by going to parties and Bliss becomes Babe Ruthless a roller-derby girl with the Hurl Scouts. She has a ton of talent, and pent-up anger, so she fits right in. To me, it’s a coming of age story, and a story about understanding your parents and vice versa.

I can not even explain how freaking perfect this cast was. Besides Ellen Page being the lead as Bliss, it was definitely an ensemble cast. The movie was Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut. She also had a small role. I have to say I hope Barrymore keeps popping out movies, because I want to see more of what she’s capable of! Kristen Wiig from “Saturday Night Live” was perfect in this movie. She is so hilarious and is quickly becoming one of my favorites. Marcia Gay Harden from The Mist played Bliss’ mother, and for some reason Harden is wonderful at playing overbearing characters … I wonder why. Juliette Lewis and Alia Shawkat (“Arrested Development”) also picked up great supporting roles. Eve, Jimmy Fallon and Andrew Wilson (brother to Luke and Owen and p.s. he has the same voice as Luke, it’s freaky) had funny roles too. As you can see, it definitely was chockfull of both big stars and up and coming stars.

The way the characters played off each other was what really made the movie for me. All of the different dynamics were played in a very realistic fashion. I could relate to the mother-daughter love/hate relationship, the cool dad/daughter relationship, the jealousy between best friends, and the desire for adventure and something new. Page’s character goes through all of these, and finally figures out what she wants from life by the end (at least until the next complicated situation comes along). Ellen Page is one of, if not, my favorite actress. She really hand picks her roles, and doesn’t just do it for the money but for a great script. That’s why I always know it’ll be a good movie if she’s in it (oh, except for the BIG mistake that was The Tracey Fragments).

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

